Home

2022 Duramax reliability

Used 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Consumer Reviews - 16

Reliability Value. Report Abuse. Silvia III. DD2, 08/09/2018. LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A) Bought the 2018 Silverado 2500HD LTZ Z71 with the Duramax/Allison combo in November 2018. It. Get reliability information for the 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD from Consumer Reports, which combines extensive survey data and expert technical knowledge

Get reliability information for the 2018 GMC Sierra 2500HD from Consumer Reports, which combines extensive survey data and expert technical knowledge 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Duramax Diesel Is A Tough Workhorse. This week I bring you the 2018 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax diesel Crew Cab truck. Chevy put an all-new diesel engine under the hood last year, but most of the truck is otherwise unchanged for 2018. The 6.6-liter Duramax is putting out 445-horses, and 910-pound feet of torque The L5P is considered the most reliable post-emissions Duramax made to date. With the removal of the CP4.2 fuel injection pump and various improvements made to the block, pistons, and other internals, the engine itself is extremely capable and reliable

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Reliability - Consumer Report

This one is specific to the LML code Duramax produced between '11-'16, which used the Bosch CP4.2 high-pressure fuel pump (vs. the predecessor CP3 found on LB7, LLY, LBZ and LMM engines). Unlike the ultra-durable CP3 that came before it, the CP4.2 doesn't possess the same track-record for reliability Bought me a problem. 2018 Denali Canyon Duramax. 1. It vibrates at exactly 80 mph and up. Feels like it's coming from the rear of the vehicle. 2. Mile 65 of a 90 mile trip home from the dealer poor exhaust fluid quality see owners manual restricted to 65 mph in xx miles topped off DEF light still on. Obviously I'm super pissed 2018 duramax Silverado ltz. No problems so far it is a good vehicle. The truck is very dependable the parts are expensive though. The back seat is coming undone underneath and I am upset about this. I do wish they would let you know when the vehicle is regenerating. I also wish they would put a bigger def tank on the truck so I am not having to.

2018 GMC Sierra 2500HD Reliability - Consumer Report

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Duramax Diesel Is A Tough

Duramax engine reliability? Jump to Latest Follow 1 - 20 of 35 Posts. 1; 2; Next. 1 of 2 Go to page. Go. Last. M. miltfam · Registered. Joined May 2, 2013 · 2 Posts . Discussion Starter · #1 · May 2, 2013. I am considering buying a 2008 durmax but have heard horror stories about the earlier Isuzu 6.6.. Cummins, hands down. Without a doubt in my mind. The three engines you refer to are known as medium duty in the industry not actually HD as has been mentioned by others. That term usually refers to over the road tractors. Anyway, the opinions on t.. Fullsize Truck & SUV - 2014-2019 K2XX Platform. 2015-2019 Silverado HD & Sierra HD. 2017+ L5P reliability. Post good & bad. Sign up for FREE! Become a GM-Trucks.com Member Today! In 20 seconds you can become part of the worlds largest and oldest community discussing General Motors, Chevrolet and GMC branded pickups, crossovers, and SUVs

The 2018 2500 Duramax is the best pickup i've bought to date. I put 20k pounds of camper and razors behind it and set the cruise control. the ride is very comfortable and the whole family is on the wifi the whole way. When we get to our camping spot in the middle of nowhere, no ones phones have data, but the truck has full service still Top Issues With Power Stroke, Duramax, and Cummins Engines. If you stop and think about it, the word diesel conjures up a lot of things - durability, torque, and towing power, just to name a few. We think of diesel engines as some of the most robust and reliable machines in existence, and for good reason; they power everything from. The new L5P Duramax is by far, the most capable duramax to date, producing 445 horsepower and 910 lb-ft of torque in stock form. Similar to the LML , the L5P utilizes the same 6.6L displacement. The engine itself is vastly different however, with numerous big changes that resulted in an increase in 48 horsepower and 145 lb/ft of torque over its.

The 2018 Chevrolet Silverado HD and GMC Sierra HD Duramax engine make 910 lb-ft. In the Nissan Titan XD, the Cummins engine makes 555 lb-ft, but in the 2018 Ram Heavy Duty, the Cummins makes 930 lb-ft of torque. While your seat probably can't tell the difference between 910 and 935, bragging rights count. Winner: Power Stroke. enlarge In the early days Honda's reliability was far above average. But I think the average has improved a lot since then, maybe they haven't. 2019 4x4 LT Crewcab Duramax

A Stealth Performance Module is the perfect addition to your Chevy/GMC Duramax L5P (2017-2018) diesel truck. It provides improved drivability, smooth and predictable power where you need it, increased HP and torque, and more. The best alternative to a flash tuner. No other modifications necessary A 6.0-liter V8 gasoline engine or a 6.6-liter Duramax turbodiesel V8 engine provides power to the 2018 GMC Sierra HD. A 6.0-liter V8 powered by compressed natural gas (CNG) is also available, if. Duramax vs. Powerstroke Reliability. GM diesel engines are known to last up to 500,000 miles when properly maintained. However, the key to longevity is keeping the truck together around the engine. With that in mind, the reliability ratings of GM trucks tend to be lower on average than Ford trucks

Looking at Consumer Reports data, the company doesn't seem to give any model year of Silverado in the third generation high marks. Except for 2014, Silverado consistently ranks 8 out of 12 in reliability among pickup trucks. So, the fact the overall reliability for 2018 doesn't end up worse is kind of good. I guess It's what every Duramax lover is talking about right now! As you're well aware the L5P Duramax is all diesel enthusiasts are talking about right now. It's not unwarranted though as tuning is slowly becoming more an actual thing rather than a hope. Now that HP Tuners have unlocked the possibilities, Duramaxtuner is wanting to know more 6.6 Duramax: LML. The LML is a further improvement upon the LMM. Most of the changes are to the emissions system, however there are a few mechanical changes. Unfortunately the LML does not allow you to easily plug a tuner in and crank the power up like you can with the LMM. Horsepower: 397 hp @ 3,000 RPM The Banks Derringer is another high quality L5P Duramax diesel tuner. The 2017-2019 Derringer tuner offers gains of 61 horsepower and 112 lb-ft of torque from its 6 different power levels. The 2020+ L5P Duramax Derringer tuner offers gains of 81 horsepower and 144 lb-ft of torque. The iDash 1.8 Supergauge is required and can be purchased as a complete kit GM promised consumers the continued reliability of their diesel engines, but with increased fuel efficiency and power at greater fuel efficiency. 2011-2016 3500HD Silverado 6.6L V8 Duramax.

The 3 Most Common Duramax L5P Engine Problems - 6

The 2019 Ford F-Series Super Duty with the 6.7-liter Power Stroke turbodiesel engine produces 935 lb.-ft. of torque. Meanwhile, the 2019 Chevy Silverado HD and the similar GMC Sierra HD Duramax diesel engine make 910 lb.-ft. of torque. The Nissan Titan XD has a 5.0-liter Cummins turbodiesel engine, but it only manages 555 lb.-ft. of torque The Duramax 2.8-liter turbodiesel I-4 only makes 181 hp, but its 369 lb-ft of torque gets the little(ish) Chevy truck moving with authority. It never left me wanting for more power, even if the. The low-end torque of Cummins trucks lets you tow heavy objects without having to worry about the truck's durability, reliability, or fuel economy. History Cummins engines date back to 1919, much older than Duramax V8, which hit the market in 2001, and Powerstroke, which hit the market in 1994 Re: 2018 duramax air intake problems Jan 30 2018, 6:50am Well I don't think its from hood scoop because you get 60% from hood and 40% of air from wheel well. cant see it being obstructed the much to black out screen. sounds electrical you have warranty ,tell them fix my 60k truck please! EGR delete for the 2017, 2018 & 2019 Chevy / GMC Duramax Diesel 6.6 L5P. Will not fit Cab & Chassis trucks. Installing an EGR delete is one of the best upgrades you can do to increase the reliability of your 6.6 Duramax pickup truck. With this EGR delete you will be able to completely remove your EGR valve & EGR cooler

2011 GMC 2500 with a 6.6 Duramax and approx 100k miles. Best truck I've ever owned and I'd like to keep it forever but a few weeks ago it started throwing a code for a defective EGR valve. My local dealer did a manual re-gen and cleared the code which worked for a while. Now the code is back and the dealer wants over $2k to replace the EGR valve The three big turbo-diesels are very close competitors, but Ford's 6.7L Power Stroke V8 proved itself as the quickest accelerating truck (although it was very close to the Chevy 3500). The Chevy. Duramax Horsepower & Torque by Model Year The Duramax-Allison combination was first introduced for the 2001 model year, replacing the 440 lb-ft Detroit diesel with the 500 lb-ft LB7. Since then, the Duramax has undergone a variety of changes, modifications, and enhancements, all necessary in the progression and evolution of the engine You unfortunately had one problem. How can your confidence in the reliability be shattered? If you had problems over and over, then I would agree. One problem that isn't reported widespread by other owners isn't a reason to have shattered confidence. I own a 2017 Chevy Colorado with the Duramax engine. No problems so far after 5,000 miles Our extensive testing of the 2017 and 2018 Duramax powered 2500/3500 HD pickup truck has given us powerful insight into this platform. We took our time to completely understand the system and how our tuning would impact performance and reliability

Details of the LML. By 2011, the Duramax lineup had already seen four major revisions, starting out with the LB7 in '01, moving to the LLY in '04½, the LBZ in '06 and the LMM in '07½. In 2011, federal emissions regulations had tightened, so additional measures had to be taken to keep the Duramax compliant, so the LML was the first to. Cummins engines are known for their power, reliability and durability, and are frequently found in hard-working commercial vehicles. The current incarnation is the Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel. This engine is available for the Ram 2500 and 3500 Heavy-Duty pickup trucks, as well as the RAM 3500, 4500, and 5500 Chassis Cabs 2018 GMC Canyon Recalls. There have been 1 safety recalls issued from NHTSA. Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2018 Buick LaCrosse, Cadillac ATS, Chevrolet Equinox, Malibu and Colorado and GMC Terrain, Acadia and Canyon vehicles. The high pressure fuel pump may detach from its mounting flange, possibly resulting in the pump.

Commons 6.6L Duramax Problems & Concern

A 6.0-liter V8 gasoline engine or a 6.6-liter Duramax turbodiesel V8 engine provides power to the 2018 GMC Sierra HD. A 6.0-liter V8 powered by compressed natural gas (CNG) is also available, if. Duramax Engine. When General Motors came together with Isuzu, the Duramax Diesel Engines took birth. The first model came in 2001 and had the edge over Power Stroke in that the latter did not have a high-pressure rail injection pump. The latest Duramax Engine is the 6.6L Duramax L5P, which has a great number of exciting features such as Venturi. Shop Running Boards for the GM Duramax 6.6L 2017-2018 L5P! XDP carries all the parts and accessories you need for the best diesel performance. all-weather performance and legendary reliability set the industry standard, and AMP Research backs the PowerStep with an industry leading 5-year/60,000 mile warranty.Features:Plug-N-Play.

In 2017 GM released the most powerful Duramax ever - which puts out 910 pounds of torque. Of course, in 2016, GM released the 4-cylinder 2.8-liter Duramax engine, but it's an entirely separate line from the 6.6-liter engine. Truthfully calling it a Duramax is a play on the marketing success that the larger engine has had This engine, the aluminum-headed 6.6L Duramax V-8 hit the market in 2001 with a very impressive 300 horsepower and 520 lb-ft of torque, a vast improvement over GM's unimpressive line of Detroit Diesel engines that preceded it. Current Version. The current version of the Duramax, known as the LML, produces 397 horsepower and 765 lb-ft of torque

Common Duramax Diesel Problems, Troubleshooting, and

2018 Silverado 3500HD Overall Owner Satisfaction. The new Chevy Silverado 3500 is the quickest, most agile and most reliable pickup. The Allison transmissions and Duramax diesel combo are the tag-team champions, dominating all competitors. The brakes are standardized for use on a daily basis and are never a cause for concern Test drive Used 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 at home from the top dealers in your area. Search from 1124 Used Chevrolet Silverado 2500 cars for sale, including a 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 High Country and a 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 LTZ Just when midsize-truck enthusiasts were really becoming one with GM's 2.8L Duramax LWN I-4 engine, it appears the torquey turbodiesel may be going away, along with the optional 3.6L V-6 gas. 2. level 1. Bmmick. '07 Dodge 2500 - 5.9 Cummins. 3 years ago. I have a bone stock 2007 Dodge Cummins 4x4 w/ the 5.9 its a solid truck. Plenty of power and imo almost as reliable as the 12v. Its super easy to work on compared to a powerstroke or Duramax. Its only down fall is the tranny 2013 duramax reliability? Looking at a 2013 with 200k on the clock. Carfax shows regular maintenance, 1 owner, body and interior is in excellent shape, the truck has damn near every option available from the factory (power everything, sun roof, heated/cooled seats, etc)

Duramax Diesel Engine. The 6.7L Cummins and the 6.7L Power Stroke share the same displacement, while the 6.6L Duramax comes in last. In terms of power, it comes in just between the Cummins and the Power Stroke. Like those two engines, it is also B20 biodiesel compatible. The Duramax Diesel engine is designed with its own set of unique features. Reliability. Interior. Exterior. (2018) because initially I fell in love with the way they looked when this body style came out in 2014. Being an empty-nester, I did not have to worry about having a lot of back seat passenger room and I wanted to finally get a truck instead of an SUV. Actually, the crew cab of this truck will seat 2 adults. 2018 Silverado 2500HD Reliability Ratings The Chevy Silverado 2500 is equipped with an Allison 6-speed automatic, which allows it to power the rear wheels or all four of them. Conversely, the diesel version can tow up to 18,000 pounds, making it a reliable option for towing Watch and guess which truck is fastest. Text your guess to 53535. Get your shirts at dieselpowergear.co

The 4 Most Common Duramax LML Engine Problems - 6

The ARP 129-2503 Balancer Bolt Kit for your 2001-2018 GM 6.6L Duramax is optimized for enhanced reliability and increased strength. Each kit includes Pro Series balancer bolts that are rated at 200,000 psi tensile strength, and 8740 parallel ground washers Find the best used 2018 GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali near you. Every used car for sale comes with a free CARFAX Report. We have 271 2018 GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali vehicles for sale that are reported accident free, 211 1-Owner cars, and 219 personal use cars Problem really was it wasn't uncommon to have trucks sitting for 4-8 weeks waiting on parts. I think the engine oil spec change was a move in the right direction for reliability. So it seems at this point, reliability is better than it was 3-4 years ago. For those general ideas above, I've kept away from the EcoD Lorenzo Martin's 2018 GMC L5P Duramax. Lorenzo Martin could feel a big difference after having the Banks Ram-Air Intake , Derringer , iDash DataMonster , Monster Exhaust , Ram-Air Differential Cover and the new PedalMonster installed all at the same time at the Banks facility in Azusa, California. I feel like that the truck runs a lot. The 2018 GMC Sierra 2500 has 16 problems & defects reported by Sierra 2500 owners. The worst complaints are fuel system, accessories - interior, and transmission problems

2018 DURAMAX DEF PROBLEM Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Foru

  1. Research 2018 Highest Dependability Ratings. The 2018 Dependability ratings and awards measure reliability based on the responses from more than 80,000 verified owners of 3-year-old vehicles annually. This rating focuses on the type and number of problems owners experienced during the preceding 12 months with their 3-year-old vehicle
  2. 2018 Chevrolet Colorado | Chevrolet Improved towing. Another benefit of the Duramax diesel is its towing ability.The 7,700 towing capacity more than doubles the 3,500-lb of towing capability available with the standard engine. While it is much harder to put a dollar value on this improvement, it will certainly bring huge value for drivers who have significant towing needs
  3. i Duramax is an in-line 4 cylinder with a variable geometry turbo charger and a high pressure common rail injection system. This combined with dual overhead camshafts help the turbo diesel.
  4. The 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 has 12 problems & defects reported by Silverado 3500 owners. The worst complaints are problems
  5. The LML features a torque rating of 765 lb ft which is a 16 percent increase over the previous LMM model (660 lb ft). This was a large power increase and was well received among heavy haulers. The respectable torque of the LML carried the Duramax for 6 years before the heavy hitting L5P was released. When the L5P was released in 2017 it brought.

5 Fatal Flaws of the Duramax—and How to Fix Them DrivingLin

SoCalif. The very best years to own are the 06-07 LBZ (Classic Body). The 07.5 is the new LMM new body style and has the DPF on it which robs fuel mileage. The LBZ has the most hp and torque only a catalytic converter in thye exhaust system that is easily done away with. The least problems are with the LBZ models I have a 2018 Duramax. The dealer said that I had a bad nox valve. Do they go bad after 22000 miles. Or could it be something else? Mechanic's Assistant: Does the light stay on, or does it blink? It stays on. Mechanic's Assistant: What is the model of your '18 Chevy? High Country Many problems on trucks manufactured in 2007 or later have something to do with the components of the dreaded after-treatment system, including the diesel particulate filter (DPF) and its process of regeneration. When the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) implemented a new set of regulations in 2007, we said a big goodbye to simple. 34.17 lb-ft of torque; That's a serious power gain, and it will help to reduce engine strain when you're towing or hauling a heavy load. But of course, your individual results will vary depending on the mileage, modifications, and condition of your specific 2017-2018 Chevrolet Silverado HD Duramax 6.6L / 2017-2018 GMC Sierra HD Duramax 6.6L

2018 GMC Canyon Denali | Ron Smith Buick GMC | Merced, CA

18 Duramax Problems? Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyo

  1. s 5.0-liter diesel makes 555 pound-feet of torque, and the Cum
  2. 2017-2019 6.6L GM Duramax L5P Fuel System. Model year 2017 marked some major changes for the Duramax fuel system. Finally, they forewent the status quo that had been hovering over this engine since 2001 with the only major change occurring in the 2011 model years with the LML engine. The fuel system featured on the L5P could best be described.
  3. Our extensive testing of the 2017 - 2021 Duramax powered 2500/3500 HD pickup truck has given us powerful insight into this platform. We took our time to completely understand the system and how our tuning would impact performance and reliability
  4. DuraMAX, the premier aftermarket automotive brand of RelaDyne, celebrates its latest success in the automotive industry as it ranks in the 2018 NOLN Fast Lube Operator Survey. DuraMAX, the 10-year-old motor oil brand, has rocketed to success among major oil brands as the recommended choice for its performance and profitability
  5. October 18th, 2016. New information is starting to trickle in on the redesigned Duramax 6.6L L5P V-8 turbo-diesel for the 2017 GMC Sierra and Chevy Silverado HDs. As we wrote on our blog this past summer, we've been watching the 2017 models closely, waiting to see just who will unveil the biggest and baddest diesel in 2017
  6. PPMY Index and Problem Occurrence Trend. In our research we use the PPMY index to compare the reliability of vehicles. The PPMY index of a certain model is defined as the problems reported per thousand vehicles per Year.The total sales of the 2018 Chevrolet Colorado in the United States are 121,466 units .If the total number of problems reported by Chevrolet Colorado owners in the last 3 years.

The 2020 Silverado HD is sold with a 10-speed Allison Transmission however the transmission isn't really made by Allison and is simply an Allison-branded unit We invited three players to our 2018 One-Ton Heavy-Duty Truck Challenge — the 2018 Chevrolet Silverado 3500, 2018 Ford Super Duty F-350 and 2018 Ram 3500 — stipulating that we wanted to test a. Jeep 2.8L CRD - R428. The US spec Jeep Liberty CRD used the R428 engine from VM. Essentially, this was a bored out version of the R425, which was a 2.5L and was widely used in Europe. In the US Liberty configuration, the R428 made 150 horsepower and 295 lb-ft of torque, and this was largely in line with European configurations as well 3.0L Duramax Turbo-Diesel Engine. The engine is a ground up design made to fit perfectly in those vehicles and produces 277 horsepower and 460 pound-feet of torque in the half-ton Silverado with a surprising peak torque at just 1,500 RPMs. It also includes a variety of innovative engine technologies like ceramic glow plugs that heat up faster.

What is going on in The DMAXSTORE! - Page 57 - Chevy and

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Reviews by Owner

GM 2.8 Liter Turbo Diesel I4 Duramax XLD28 Engine. The XLD28 is a 2.8-liter, four-cylinder, turbo-diesel engine produced by General Motors for mid-size pickup trucks, SUVs, and other diesel. The RelaDyne automotive brand is growing up! At nearly 12-years-old, DuraMAX continues to transform the aftermarket automotive industry. According to the 2020 NOLN Fast Lube Operator Survey, DuraMAX ranks as the top best-selling brand by quick lubes.. The 2020 annual survey hosted by NOLN was taken by nearly 1,000 managers and owners of quick lubes from around the country Not quite as new as the 3.0L Power Stroke, the 2.8L Duramax engine was all-new when designed in 2015. It is available in the Chevrolet Colorado and Express van and the GMC Canyon and Express van. The 2.8L Duramax turbo-diesel is part of GM's global family of turbo-diesel four-cylinder engines designed to deliver value, capability and efficiency By Andy Mikonis. My first encounter with a 2018 Ford F-150 with the new turbo-diesel 3.0-liter V-6 and 10-speed automatic transmission came at the Midwest Automotive Media Association Spring Rally.

Fuel Filter Canister Housing Cover Cap for Dodge Ram 6

Duramax engines are known for their reliability, and come standard with a 5-year/60,000-mile limited warranty on 2.8L Turbo-Diesel engines, or a 5-year/100,000-mile limited warranty on 3.0L and 6.6L Turbo-Diesel engines. Diesels make a lot of torque, but they don't seem to have the horsepower of gas engines The 2018 GMC Canyon's #3 ranking is based on its score within the 2018 Compact Pickup Trucks category. Currently the GMC Canyon has a score of 8.1 out of 10, which is based on our evaluation of 36 pieces of research and data elements using various sources. #3 in 2018 Compact Pickup Trucks. #12 in Used Compact Trucks $20K and up

An 1,100hp LML Duramax GMC Sierra 3500HD Built In Tribute2004-2018 F150 ICON Delta Joint Tubular Upper Control Arm

The Duramax V8 engine is a family of 6.6-liter Diesel V8 engines produced by DMAX, a joint venture between General Motors and Isuzu in Moraine, Ohio.The Duramax block and heads are poured at The Defiance GM Powertrain foundry in Defiance County, Ohio.This engine was initially installed in 2001 Chevrolet and GMC trucks, and has since become an option in pickups, vans, and medium-duty trucks It took nineteen years, but the 6.6L V-8 Duramax now has a younger brother, the 2020 inline six-cylinder Duramax 3.0L. Design overview. The 3.0L Duramax is a completely new design that shares none of its architecture with any other engine in the company's line-up. Also, it is the first-ever inline-six turbodiesel offered in the full-size GM. If your truck has a model year between 2016 - 2018, you are rocking a 2.8L Duramax engine, and you need to find a tuner that is compatible. 2.8 Duramax . Perks of Upgrading Your 2.8L Duramax With a New Tuner. It is true that tuners can get pretty pricey. But we guarantee the financial investment is always worth it TEST RESULTS 2018 Ford F-150 Platinum Power Stroke 4x4 SuperCrew Base/as-tested price: $59,405/$66,405 250-hp 3.0-liter turbo-diesel V-6 10-speed automatic 5662 lb Zero to 60 mph: 7.7 se The Industrial Injection Premium Stock Plus Duramax was designed to eliminate the common engine failures associated with the 6.6L Duramax. These premium upgrades result in industry leading reliability out of the engine build. If you are doing minor upgrades - this is the perfect build for you Even Andre's comments in that video were about a 2002 Duramax, not the recent VM based 2.8L. The point is, get reliable sources, not the punters. However, sticking with what you know and are comfortable with is usally a good play (again like investing), it doesn't offer great gains, but usually also doesn't offer many surprises you didn't.